Skip to content
U.S. National Debt:

Crapo Assigned Leadership Roles

Lead Republican on financial, water, trade subcommittees

Washington, DC - Idaho Senator Mike Crapo will take a leadership role on key committees during the 111th Congress. In addition to retaining his role as Deputy Whip, leading policy discussion for western state Senators, Crapo will be Ranking Member (senior Republican) on three important subcommittees.

"These leadership roles will ensure that Idahoans have a voice here in Washington, DC, as we make critical decisions about the nation's policies regarding financial issues and tax policy," Crapo said. "From health care to the environment, I hope all Idahoans will contact me through my website and offices to share their ideas."

Crapo will be Ranking Member on the Senate Banking, Housing and Urban Affairs Subcommittee on Financial Institutions, putting him front and center regarding legislative initiatives on credit and financial legislation during this session of Congress. Crapo also is a member of two other Banking Committee Subcommittees: Securities, Insurance and Investment; and Housing, Transportation and Community Development.

In a year when reforms of the Clean Water Act, endangered species legislation and climate change may be discussed, Crapo has been assigned to be Ranking Member of the Senate Environment and Public Works Committee's Subcommittee on Wildlife and Water. He is also a member of the Subcommittee on Superfund and Environmental Health.

On the influential Senate Finance Committee, Crapo will serve as Ranking Member on the Subcommittee on International Trade, Customs, and Global Competitiveness. He also has been assigned memberships on the Subcommittees on Health Care and Energy, Natural Resources and Infrastructure. The Finance Committee has jurisdiction over tax, health care and entitlement issues such as Social Security.

Crapo will chair the Senate Republican Capital Markets Task Force and co-chair key Senate caucus groups: the Senate Renewables and Energy-Efficiency Caucus, the Senate Sportsmen's Caucus and the Senate Sweetener Caucus. He is also the Vice-Chair of the Canada-U.S. Interparliamentary Group.