Skip to content
U.S. National Debt:

Crapo Leads Bipartisan Meetings Between Top U.S. and Canadian Lawmakers

Crapo serves as Vice Chair of the Canada-U.S. Interparliamentary Group

Washington, D.C.--U.S. Senators Mike Crapo (R-Idaho) and Amy Klobuchar (D-Minnesota), co-chairs of the Canada-U.S. Interparliamentary Group (IPG), hosted Canadian co-chairs Senator Michael MacDonald and Mr. John McKay as well as seven other Members of Parliament in Washington, D.C., and led a series of meetings between United States and Canadian lawmakers on topics including trade, security and energy. 

“The Canada-U.S. Interparliamentary Group meetings are critical opportunities for our respective legislative bodies to discuss significant issues of mutual concern and to further build upon our great partnerships,” said Crapo.  “The United States and Canada share more than just a border.  We share common values and common interests, and we must continue our cooperative efforts across trade, defense and energy issues to keep countering adversarial threats.  We are stronger together, and I am honored to serve in this capacity with Senator Klobuchar.”

“As co-chair of the bipartisan United States and Canada group, I am committed to strengthening the economic, security, and cultural ties between our nations,” said Klobuchar.  “We had productive conversations on a number of shared priorities including trade, defense cooperation in our airspace, protecting the Great Lakes, and our commitment to NATO.  Our work together continues to bring us closer to a stronger, safer, more prosperous North America.”

“The Canada–United States relationship is without a doubt and by far the most important bilateral relationship we have,” said MacDonald.  “When visiting Washington, I am always impressed with the quality of our discussions, whether we are finding new points of agreement, or approaching topics that are worthy of more conversations.”

“Our discussions today, ranging on topics from agriculture to border issues, security and defence, help us to better understand our respective points of view,” said McKay.  “When Canadian and American legislators make critical decisions on those issues, we can understand the impact and consequences for the other country.” 

Photos are available HERE

U.S. Senators John Boozman (R-Arkansas), Maria Cantwell (D-Washington), Ben Cardin (D-Maryland), Bill Cassidy (R-Louisiana), Susan Collins (R-Maine), Chris Coons (D-Delaware), Dick Durbin (D-Illinois), Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), Maggie Hassan (D-New Hampshire), John Hickenlooper (D-Colorado), John Hoeven (R-North Dakota), Bob Menendez (D-New Jersey), Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska), Chuck Schumer (D-New York), Jeanne Shaheen (D-New Hampshire), Tina Smith (D-Minnesota), Debbie Stabenow (D-Michigan), JD Vance (R-Ohio), Mark Warner (D-Virginia), Peter Welch (D-Vermont) and Roger Wicker (R-Mississippi) joined meetings and events throughout the visit.

In addition to Senator MacDonald and Mr. McKay, Canadian lawmakers Senator Yuen Pau Woo, Senator Jean-Guy Dagenais, Mr. Kody Blois, Mr. Ted Falk, Mr. Randy Hoback, Mr. Simon-Pierre Savard-Tremblay and Mr. Brian S. Masse were part of the Canadian delegation.

The IPG was established in 1959 as a forum for U.S. members of Congress and Canadian parliamentarians to have an ongoing dialogue on major issues of mutual concern.  The IPG meets every two years, alternating between the United States and Canada.  Senator Crapo has been a member of the IPG since 2003.