Skip to content
U.S. National Debt:

Crapo Expected to be Ranking Member on Banking Committee, Named Chief Deputy Whip

Keeps former committee assignments for 113th Congress

Washington, D.C.  - When the Senate Republican Conference meets later this month, Idaho Senator Mike Crapo is expected to become the Ranking Member of the Senate Banking, Housing and Urban Affairs Committee in the 113 th Congress.  Crapo, who wrapped up work with Senate Republican Leader Mitch McConnell on the Senate Republican Committee on Committees, will retain his committee assignments from the last Congress.  His seniority means he moves up to the top Republican on the Banking Committee and the third-ranking Republican on the Senate Finance Committee.  The assignments become final when approved by the Republican Conference and the full Senate.

Senate Minority Whip Senator John Cornyn (R-Texas) appointed Crapo as Chief Deputy Whip for the 113 th Congress, meaning Crapo will head a team of Senators communicating information and strategy to their Republican colleagues. 

"I want to thank Senator Crapo for stepping up to help lead our caucus in the 113 th Congress as a part of our Whip team," said Sen. John Cornyn. "With Senator Crapo's help, Senate Republicans will continue to lead the charge for a conservative agenda that will grow the economy and create jobs while putting our nation on a path towards fiscal prosperity."

"Our nation faces critical deadlines for getting our fiscal house in order," Crapo said.  "Congress must focus on the real drivers of our debt and deficits by enacting real, enforceable spending cuts, structurally reforming our entitlement programs to prevent impending insolvency, and enacting pro-growth tax reform that will reduce tax rates for American families and businesses, and make the tax code more simple, efficient and competitive."

 Crapo will remain a member of the following Senate committees during the 113 th Congress:  Senate Finance Committee; Senate Banking, Housing and Urban Affairs Committee; Senate Budget Committee; Senate Environment and Public Works Committee and the Senate Indian Affairs Committee.