Skip to content
U.S. National Debt:

Idaho Senators Introduce Resolution Calling on White House and Congress to Combat Crime

Also call for securing southern border

Washington, D.C.--Idaho’s U.S. Senators Mike Crapo and Jim Risch joined 29 Senate colleagues in introducing a Senate Resolution calling on the Biden Administration to work with Congress to develop a plan to combat the rise in crime in the United States, as well as to address the crisis at the southern border.  The Resolution was introduced during the annual recognition of National Police Week.

“Recent data and news reports have highlighted just a sampling of the significant increase in violent crime across the country,” said Crapo.  “The United States reached record-breaking drug overdose deaths in 2021; 16 major U.S. cities set homicide rates in 2021; and illegal border crossings have surged to record-breaking levels.  When communities are soft on crime and focused on defunding the police, we are all less safe.  We must focus on policies that lay blame squarely on the perpetrators of violent, criminal behavior, not on law-abiding citizens.”

“We need solutions to address the rise in violent crime and the continued surge of illegal immigration at the border,” said Risch.  “Senate Republicans stand ready to get the work done – the White House should join us in making a plan of action.”

Senator Bill Cassidy (R-Louisiana) led the resolution that is also co-sponsored by Senators Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), John Barrasso (R-Wyoming), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tennessee), Mike Braun (R-Indiana), Shelley Moore Capito (R-West Virginia), John Cornyn (R-Texas), Kevin Cramer (R-North Dakota), Ted Cruz (R-Texas), Steve Daines (R-Montana), Joni Ernst (R-Iowa), Bill Hagerty (R-Tennessee), John Hoeven (R-North Dakota), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Mississippi), Ron Johnson (R-Wisconsin), John Kennedy (R-Louisiana), James Lankford (R-Oklahoma), Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyoming), Roger Marshall (R-Kansas), Rob Portman (R-Ohio), Marco Rubio (R-Florida), Rick Scott (R-Florida), Tim Scott (R-South Carolina), Dan Sullivan (R-Alaska), Thom Tillis (R-North Carolina), Roger Wicker (R-Mississippi), Deb Fischer (R-Nebraska), Jim Inhofe (R-Oklahoma) and Todd Young (R-Indiana).

Read the full resolution HERE.