Skip to content
U.S. National Debt:


Students from Fairfield and Rexburg selected

WASHINGTON, D.C. â?? Idaho Senators Larry Craig and Mike Crapo today announced the appointments of Katrina Davis and Hyrum Hansen as the Idaho delegates to the 45th Anniversary United States Senate Youth Program in Washington, D.C. The stateâ??s high school delegates were designated by Dr. Marilyn Howard when she served as Idahoâ??s Superintendent of Public Instruction.Katrina Davis, a resident of Fairfield, is Public Relations Officer for the Family, Career, Community Leaders of America at Camas County High School. As well as her extensive leadership roles, she is a member of the National Honor Society. Katrina has enjoyed high school basketball, volleyball and track during all four years of high school. Her future goals include: college with a major in pre-med and a career goal to practice as an OB/GYN.Hyrum Hansen, a resident of Rexburg, is Treasurer of the Scholastics Club at Madison High School. He also serves as a Council Member of the Rexburg Mayor's Youth Advisory Board and has participated in the Math Olympiad. Hyrum is extensively involved as a member of the tennis team and with drama productions. After receiving a college degree, he plans a career in public service.Chosen as Alternates to the 2007 program were Gary Hardin and Nathan LeBaron, both of whom are residents of Orofino attending Orofino High School.The chief educational officer in each state selects the delegates â?? two from each state, the District of Columbia and the Department of Defense Education Activity. The student leaders will be in Washington, D.C., from March 3?10, 2007, for a week of intensive study of the people and machinery of the American governing system. The operations of the Senate will also be highlighted during the week. As in past years, arrangements are underway for the delegates to meet with leading cabinet members, a Supreme Court Justice, and several key Congressional policy makers. In addition to the experience in our nationâ??s capital, each of the 104 delegates will receive a $5,000 college scholarship. This scholarship, in addition to the program week in Washington, D.C., is made possible by a grant from the William Randolph Hearst Foundation. All transportation, meals, and accommodations are also provided. No government funds are utilized for the program. Former Idaho Lieutenant Governor and Attorney General, David Leroy, is an alumnus of the program.