Skip to content
U.S. National Debt:

Crapo, Scott Urge SSA to Reopen Field Offices to the Public

In-person services crucial, especially in rural areas

Washington, D.C.--U.S. Senator Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Ranking Member of the Senate Finance Committee, and Senator Tim Scott (R-South Carolina), Ranking Member of the Senate Special Committee on Aging, sent a letter urging Acting Social Security Administration (SSA) Commissioner Kilolo Kijakazi to immediately reopen SSA’s field offices to the public.

From the letter:

“Social Security is a bedrock of our nation’s social safety net, especially for our nation’s seniors aged 62 or older who comprise more than four-fifths of all Social Security beneficiaries. … On March 17, 2020, the Social Security Administration (SSA) suspended in-person services because of the COVID-19 pandemic.  This suspension created a disruption to the millions of new applicants and beneficiaries receiving Social Security benefits.”

“On behalf of the nearly 70 million Americans who receive benefits from SSA, we reiterate the need to reopen the field offices as quickly as possible.  Our nation’s seniors and beneficiaries of SSA programs deserve no less.”

Nearly 21 months ago, the SSA suspended in-person services because of the COVID-19 pandemic.  While the SSA reportedly submitted its reentry plan to the Office of Management and Budget in July of 2021, it has still failed to fully reopen its offices to the public.  This has resulted in disruptions to the millions of applicants and beneficiaries receiving Social Security benefits, including:

Challenges for individuals, especially seniors in rural areas, who do not have reliable telephone or internet access;

A reduction in Supplemental Security Income awards and disability benefit approvals; and

Mail backlogs and delays in providing benefit payments.

Joining Ranking Members Crapo and Scott were 13 members of the Finance and Aging committees: Senators Todd Young (R-Indiana), Susan Collins (R-Maine), Richard Burr (R-North Carolina), Marco Rubio (R-Florida), Mike Braun (R-Indiana), Rick Scott (R-Florida), John Barrasso (R-Wyoming), Bill Cassidy (R-Louisiana), Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), James Lankford (R-Oklahoma), Rob Portman (R-Ohio), John Thune (R-South Dakota) and Pat Toomey (R-Pennsylvania).

Click here to view the full letter.