Skip to content
U.S. National Debt:

Crapo, Risch, Western Caucus Members Unveil Blueprint for Conservation

‘Western Conservation Principles’ to serve as alternative to President Biden’s ’30 by 30’ initiative

Washington, D.C.--U.S. Senators Mike Crapo and Jim Risch (both R-Idaho) have joined members of the Senate Western Caucus and Congressional Western Caucus to reveal a holistic, outcome-based conservation proposal titled, “Western Conservation Principles.”  The proposal, which serves as an alternative to the Biden Administration’s “30 by 30 initiative” and America the Beautiful report, is a blueprint for responsible, effective conservation supported by rural communities across the United States. 

“We have a responsibility to preserve, maintain and enhance our natural environment,” said Senator Crapo.  “The best policies for addressing environmental problems must be grounded in science, protect our quality of life and provide the greatest benefit to both the environment and people without unintentionally harming our economy.  Outcomes from a locally-driven, collaborative, consensus-building approach are better for both the environment and the natural resource-based economies of Idaho.” 

“Idahoans know all too well that those who live and work on the land are more invested in conserving it than anyone,” said Senator Risch.  “Conservation can work in tandem with — not in opposition to — our agricultural and natural resource industries.  These Western principles provide a commonsense outline of how we can conserve our natural environment and our western way of life alike.”   

Senate Western Caucus Members leading the introduction include Senators Steve Daines (R-Montana), John Barrasso (R-Wyoming), Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyoming), James Lankford (R-Oklahoma), Jerry Moran (R-Kansas), Mitt Romney (R-Utah), John Hoeven (R-North Dakota), Deb Fischer (R-Nebraska), John Cornyn (R-Texas) and Dan Sullivan (R-Alaska). 

The Western Conservation Principles were introduced with the support of Congressional Western Caucus Chairman Dan Newhouse (R-Washington), Vice Chairmen Kevin McCarthy (R-California), Bruce Westerman (R-Arkansas), Pete Stauber (R-Minnesota), John Curtis (R-Utah), Doug Lamborn (R-Colorado), Chris Stewart (R-Utah), Liz Cheney (R-Wyoming), Mark Amodei (R-Nevada), and Garret Graves (R-Louisiana) as well as Western Caucus Members Representatives Mariannette Miller-Meeks (R-Iowa), Ken Calvert (R-California), Yvette Herrell (R-New Mexico), Cathy McMorris Rodgers (R-Washington), Blake Moore (R-Utah), Adrian Smith (R-Nebraksa), Tom Tiffany (R-Wisconsin), Jay Obernolte (R-California), Mike Bost (R-Illinois), Ralph Norman (R-South Carolina), David Joyce (R-Ohio), Brian Babin (R-Texas), Rick Crawford (R-Arkansas), Cliff Bentz (R-Oregon), Kelly Armstrong (R-North Dakota), Fred Keller (R-Pennsylvania) and David Valadao (R-California).

Western Conservation Principles have garnered endorsements from the following groups: American Exploration and Mining Association, American Farm Bureau Federation, American Forest Research Council, American Sheep Industry, Family Farm Alliance, National Association of Counties, National Cattlemen’s Beef Association, National Endangered Species Act Reform Coalition, National Mining Association, National Stone, Sand, and Gravel Association, Public Lands Council and the Western Energy Alliance. 

To read the Western Conservation Principles, click here.