Skip to content
U.S. National Debt:

Crapo, Risch Support Parental Involvement in Their Children’s Education

Washington, D.C.--U.S. Senators Mike Crapo (R-Idaho) and Jim Risch (R-Idaho) have joined over two dozen Republican colleagues to introduce a resolution supporting parents’ rights to be fully and actively involved in the education of their children.  The resolution specifically denounces restricting parental involvement in their children’s education and demands Attorney General Merrick Garland rescind the Department of Justice (DOJ) memorandum which violates parental free speech and directs federal law enforcement resources to be used against parents at the forefront of making decisions on behalf of their children.

“Parents should not and cannot be restricted when it comes to involvement in their children’s education.  Violence is never the answer and will never be condoned, but casting angry and concerned parents as domestic threats is an attempt to silence the voices of law-abiding Americans speaking up about their children’s future,” said Senator Crapo.  “This Department of Justice memorandum discourages schools’ and parents’ efforts to work collaboratively in a constructive and transparent environment.  Attorney General Garland should rescind this memorandum immediately.”

“When it comes to decisions about a student’s education, parental involvement should be encouraged.  Parents, teachers, and school boards must work collectively and civilly to implement policies and curriculums that best set our children up for success.  The Department of Justice cannot cut parents out of these important discussions,” said Senator Risch.

Senator Rick Scott (R-Florida) introduced the resolution that is also co-sponsored by Senate Republican Leader Mitch McConnell (R-Kentucky) and Senators Richard Burr (R-North Carolina), John Barrasso (R-Wyoming), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tennessee), John Boozman (R-Arkansas), Mike Braun (R-Indiana), John Cornyn (R-Texas), Tom Cotton (R-Arkansas), Kevin Cramer (R-North Dakota), Joni Ernst (R-Iowa), Deb Fischer (R-Nebraska), Lindsey Graham (R-South Carolina), Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), Josh Hawley (R-Missouri), John Hoeven (R-North Dakota), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Mississippi), Jim Inhofe (R-Oklahoma), Ron Johnson (R-Wisconsin), John Kennedy (R-Louisiana), James Lankford (R-Oklahoma), Mike Lee (R-Utah), Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyoming), Roger Marshall (R-Kansas), Jerry Moran (R-Kansas), Marco Rubio (R-Florida), Tim Scott (R-South Carolina), Thom Tillis (R-North Carolina), Tommy Tuberville (R-Alabama) and Roger Wicker (R-Mississippi).

Full text of the resolution can be found here.