Skip to content
U.S. National Debt:

Crapo, Risch, Graham Demand Schumer Hold Mayorkas Impeachment Trial

Washington, D.C--U.S. Senators Mike Crapo, Jim Risch (both R-Idaho), Lindsey Graham (R-South Carolina) and 40 Republican Senators called on Majority Leader Chuck Schumer (D-New York) to fulfill his constitutional duty by holding a trial to consider the impeachment of U.S. Department of Homeland Security Secretary Alejandro Mayorkas.

“Our brave men and women at Customs and Border Protection have worked tirelessly to make our nation safer, yet with 7.5 million encounters since President Biden took office, our southern border is a national security disaster,” wrote the Senators.  “Encounters in fiscal year 2023 increased a startling 440% over fiscal year 2020.  The border crisis under Secretary Mayorkas has become a nightmare for the American people.”

“The House of Representatives has considered this evidence and impeached Secretary Mayorkas,” continued the Senators. “Our constitutional duty requires the Senate to hold a trial. In every previous congressional impeachment of the past 227 years, Congress has been faithful to the process set out by the framers… Never before has the Senate abandoned this duty, even when certain members believed the basis for impeachment was tenuous at best.”

Joining Crapo, Risch and Graham are Senators John Barrasso (R-Wyoming), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tennessee), Ted Budd (R-North Carolina), John Boozman (R-Arkansas), Mike Braun (R-Indiana), Katie Britt (R-Alabama), Shelley Moore Capito (R-West Virginia.), John Cornyn (R-Texas), Tom Cotton (R-Arkansas), Kevin Cramer (R-North Dakota), Ted Cruz (R-Texas), Steve Daines (R-Montana), Joni Ernst (R-Iowa), Deb Fischer (R-Nebraska), Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), Bill Hagerty (R-Tennessee), Josh Hawley (R-Missouri), John Hoeven (R-North Dakota), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Mississippi), Ron Johnson (R-Wisconsin), John Kennedy (R-Louisiana), James Lankford (R-Oklahoma), Mike Lee (R-Utah), Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyoming), Roger Marshall (R-Kansas), Mitch McConnell (R-Kejntucky), Jerry Moran (R-Kansas), Markwayne Mullin (R-Oklahoma), Pete Ricketts (R-Nebraska), Mike Rounds (R-South Dakota), Marco Rubio (R-Florida), Eric Schmitt (R-Missouri), Rick Scott (R-Florida), Tim Scott (R-South Carolina), Dan Sullivan (R-Alabama), John Thune (R-South Dakota), Thom Tillis (R-North Carolina), J.D. Vance (R-Ohio), Roger Wicker (R-Mississippi) and Todd Young (R-Indiana). 

Full text of the letter is here.