Skip to content
U.S. National Debt:

Crapo Joins Russia Sanctions Legislation

Washington, D.C.--As Russia continues to encroach on the Ukrainian border and pose a threat to stability in the region, U.S. Senator Mike Crapo (R-Idaho) joined U.S. Senator Jim Risch (R-Idaho), Ranking Member of the Senate Foreign Relations Committee, and a majority of Republican colleagues in introducing the Never Yielding Europe’s Territory (NYET) Act to provide the critical support Ukraine needs to defend itself and deter Russian aggression today, while imposing real costs on the Kremlin for its ongoing and potential future aggression against Ukraine.


“Russia’s continued and increasing aggression toward Ukraine is a threat to regional and international security,” said Crapo.  “The NYET Act will take immediate steps to forcefully remind the Kremlin that the United States will not stand idly by and allow its malign activities to continue against our allies.”


The NYET Act:


Imposes real costs on Russia:

  • Immediately stops construction of the Nord Stream 2 project and would mandate sanctions on the project without a waiver should Russia invade. Prior to an invasion, the bill suspends sanctions for as long as the German government continues to suspend the certification process. 
  • Sends a clear deterrent message to Vladimir Putin that an invasion of Ukraine will result in massive economic consequences to Russia’s economy, including: 
    • Sanctions on major Russian banks;
    • Secondary sanctions on banks that continue business with sanctioned Russian banks.
    • Sanctions on Putin’s cronies, enablers and major banks before Russia further invades Ukraine to ensure Putin pays a price now for hybrid attacks already launched; and
    • Allows any Chairman or Ranking Member of a national security committee to force a determination from the president on whether Russia’s aggression against Ukraine constitutes a major escalation and fulfills conditions to trigger sanctions.


Supports Ukraine before, during, and after a Russian escalation:

  • Provides $500 million in Foreign Military Financing (FMF) for Ukraine, including $250 million in emergency funding, with $100 million for emergency lethal assistance for critical capabilities like air defense, anti-armor, and anti-ship capabilities.
  • Creates a new Ukraine Resistance Fund to help Ukraine resist attempts to occupy or subjugate any new territory Russia seizes, while sending a clear message to Putin that his military will pay a price for advances into sovereign Ukrainian territory.
  • Authorizes a new Lend-Lease authority for Ukraine.
  • Expedites congressional review of arms sales and security assistance to Ukraine.


Counters Russian malign influence and aggression throughout Europe:

  • Doubles funding for U.S. military exercises in Europe.
  • Creates a new U.S. Department of State FMF program for Eastern Europe to help European allies strengthen their own defensive capabilities and incentivize greater burden-sharing.
  • Boosts funding for State Department efforts to counter Russian disinformation, including the Global Engagement Center, and expands broadcasting by Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty.


Text of the NYET Act can be found here.


Additional co-sponsors include Senators Pat Toomey (R-Pennsylvania), Jim Inhofe (R-Oklahoma), Ted Cruz (R-Texas), Marco Rubio (R-Flaorida), Lindsey Graham (R-South Carolina), Rob Portman (R-Ohio), John Barrasso (R-Wyoming), Thom Tillis (R-North Carolina), Roger Wicker (R-Mississippi), James Lankford (R-Oklahoma), Susan Collins (R-Maine), Kevin Cramer (R-North Dakota), Todd Young (R-Indiana), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tennessee), Joni Ernst (R-Iowa), Bill Cassidy (R-Louisiana), John Cornyn (R-Texas), Shelley Moore Capito (R-West Virginia), John Kennedy (R-Louisiana), John Boozman (R-Arkansas), Deb Fischer (R-Nebraska), Mitt Romney (R-Utah), Ron Johnson (R-Wisconsin), Roger Marshall (R-Kansas), Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyoming), Tommy Tuberville (R-Alabama), Richard Burr (R-North Carolina), Dan Sullivan (R-Alaska), Roy Blunt (R-Missouri) and John Thune (R-South Dakota).