Skip to content
U.S. National Debt:

Crapo Announces Military Academy Nominations

Washington, D.C.-Idaho Senator Mike Crapo today announced his nomination of 44 Idaho students for continuing education and service as a part of the nation's military academies.  The students' applications are now being considered by four of the U.S. service academies, where final selections will be made.

"These outstanding young people represent some of the best and brightest in our state, and it is an honor to nominate them to our nation's service academies," said Crapo. "We in Idaho have much to be proud of in these students who seek to serve our state and country in the armed forces and will go on to be tomorrow's leaders.  I congratulate this year's nominees for their hard work and commitment, and look forward to seeing their future successes."

Each year, U.S. Senators and Representatives make nominations to four of the service academies.  The academies then select from the students nominated.  Crapo made nominations to the following: the U.S. Air Force Academy, Colorado Springs, Colorado; the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy, Kings Point, New York; the U.S. Military Academy, West Point, New York; and the U.S. Naval Academy, Annapolis, Maryland.  Congressional nominations are not required for students attending the U.S. Coast Guard Academy.

To be eligible for nominations, each student submitted an application and references and met certain scholastic requirements under a deadline.  A nomination does not guarantee acceptance.  Those wishing to apply for future nominations should contact Karen Roetter in Crapo's North Idaho Office in Coeur d'Alene at (208) 664-5490.

U.S. Senator Mike Crapo's 2014 Academy Nominations:

U.S. Air Force Academy

Scott Bennett, Boise

Austin Box, Boise

Rydder Driggs, Ammon

Tyler Hill, Boise

Benjamin Hinatsu, New Plymouth

Jesse Miller, Laclede

Joshua Rackham, Meridian

Braxton Stocking, Rexburg

Timothy Ward, Meridian

Justin Williams, Bancroft


U.S. Merchant Marine Academy

Reilly Cherry, Coeur d'Alene

Isaac Christensen, Coeur d'Alene

Devin Cooper, Mt. Home

Jonathan Yake, Coeur d'Alene

U.S. Naval Academy

Carli Ashley, Meridian

Benjamin Beier, Kingston

Nicholas Blancett, Star

Rayelynn Brackett, Twin Falls

Hunter Cyr, Eagle

Anderson Gannaway, Rexburg

Scott Givens, Post Falls

Justus Grammer, Coeur d'Alene

Katey McInturff, Cataldo

Victoria Nash, Homedale

Robert Owen, Eagle

Garrett Plant, Meridian

John Schneider, Boise

Bryce Schroeder, Caldwell

Quinn Shultz, Eagle

McKenzie Steingruber, Meridian

Kathleen Thompson, Meridian

Alexander Tracy, Nampa

Ryan Walker, Eagle

Hannah Wentland, Meridian

U.S. Military Academy

Michael Duff, Blackfoot

Randy Foristiere, Boise

Spencer Rich, Meridian

McKenzie Steingruber, Meridian

Tanner Stuart, Pocatello

Kathleen Thompson, Meridian

Jonathan Yake, Coeur d'Alene

Andrew Young, Meridian

Thomas Zagula, Jr., Rigby

James Zimmerman, Boise