December 21, 2011

Crapo Announces Idaho 2012 Military Academy Nominations

Washington, DC - Idaho Senator Mike Crapo announced his nomination of 59 Idaho students to military service academies, for the freshman class entering in 2012.  The students' applications are now being considered by four of the U.S. service academies, where final selections will be made.

"These academies are the world's paramount leader development institutions," Crapo said.  "I am proud to nominate students from Idaho to assist them in their continued education and am confident in their abilities.  Our nation remains engaged in defending freedom and fighting terrorism.  It is admirable that young Idahoans are choosing to defend and serve our country." 

Each year, U.S. Senators and Representatives make nominations to four of the service academies.  The academies then select from the students nominated.  Crapo made nominations to the following: the U.S. Air Force Academy, Colorado Springs, Colorado; the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy, Kings Point, New York; the U.S. Military Academy, West Point, New York; and the U.S. Naval Academy, Annapolis, Maryland.  Congressional nominations are not required for students attending the U.S. Coast Guard Academy.

To be eligible for nominations, each student submitted an application and references and met certain scholastic requirements under a deadline.  A nomination does not guarantee acceptance.  Those wishing to apply for future nominations should contact Karen Roetter in Crapo's North Idaho Office in Coeur d'Alene at (208) 664-5490.

Crapo 2012 Academy Nominations


U.S. Air Force Academy:

Andrew Brackebusch, Silverton

Joseph Cardona, III, Boise

Anthony deVera, Meridian

John Foulger, Chubbuck

John Hodge, Meridian

Dillon Hoy, Idaho Falls

Jace Johnson, Boise

Kylie Johnson, Coeur d'Alene

Kaylee Kostka, Heyburn

Kallie Leonard, Boise

Garrett Mathews, Meridian

Mason Menges, Nampa

Kevin Miller, Idaho Falls

Zachary Morrow, McCall

Sean O'Toole, Eagle

Jonathon Riggers, Nezperce

Aaron Tousley, St. Anthony

Kevin Wilmot, Jerome

Joseph Wineke, Boise

Rebecca Winzer, Coeur d'Alene


U.S. Military Academy at West Point (Army):

Adam Armour, Idaho Falls

Nicholas Arnold, Boise

Ellen Bradford, Idaho Falls

Joseph Dlugosch, Eagle

Travis Griffard, Coeur d'Alene

Layne Harper, Blackfoot

Joel Heisey, Coeur d'Alene

Colby Hyde, Eagle

Zachary LaBenne, Hayden

Parker Matthews, Rathdrum

Konnor Moden, Boise

Mark Moomey, Star

Bryan Perry, Rigby

Jonathon Riggers, Nezperce

Dempsey Rogers, Pocatello

Charles Sperry, Idaho Falls

David Trompke, Eagle

Jordan Trompke, Eagle

Kevin Weber, Boise

Kristine Westergard, Boise


U.S. Naval Academy:

David Borden, Rupert

Krystal Busby, Meridian

William Chace, Meridian

Gaylen Edmo, Pocatello

John Givens, Post Falls

Teodoro Ledesma, Eagle

Kevin Marshall, Idaho Falls

Nathan Marshall, Idaho Falls

Skyler Means, Boise

Ronald Weimar, Payette


U.S. Merchant Marine Academy:

Brennen Connolly, Meridian

Zachary De St Germain, Eagle

Andrew Fletcher, Boise

Alex Foster, Ammon

John French, Meridian

Zane Hardin, McCall

Morgan Holbart, Coeur d'Alene

Adrianna Lutu, Boise

Levi Sliwoski, Boise

Eric Whitman, Priest River