Skip to content
U.S. National Debt:

Crapo Announces Idaho 2009 Military Academy Nominations

Washington, DC - Idaho Senator Mike Crapo announced his nominations of 33 Idaho students to military service academies, for the freshman class entering in 2009. The students' applications are now being considered by four of the U.S. service academies, where final selections will be made.

"These are our future leaders from Idaho," Crapo said. "I am pleased to assist them continue their education and am proud to see they will also be protecting our country. With our nation engaged in defending freedom and fighting terrorism, it is extremely important that our young Idahoans are choosing to serve and defend our security."

Each year U.S. Senators and Representatives make nominations to four of the service academies. The academies then select from the students nominated. Crapo made nominations to the following: the U.S. Air Force Academy, Colorado Springs, Colorado; the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy, Kings Point, New York; the U.S. Military Academy, West Point, New York; and the U.S. Naval Academy, Annapolis, Maryland. Congressional nominations are not required for students attending the U.S. Coast Guard Academy.

To be eligible for nominations, each student submitted an application and references, and met certain scholastic requirements under a deadline. A nomination does not guarantee acceptance. Those wishing to apply for future nominations should contact Karen Roetter in Crapo's North Idaho Office in Coeur d'Alene at (208) 664-5490.

Crapo 2009 Academy Nominations

U.S. Air Force Academy:

Josh Bartlow, Nampa
Ryan Caven, Boise
James Dose, Pinehurst
Joe Groberg, Idaho Falls
Everett Karpauskas, Caldwell
Dak Kibler, Boise
Garrett Lyons, Boise
Matt Menadier, Moscow
Tucker Nelson, Boise
Montana Patton, Coeur d'Alene
Austin Porter, Rexburg
Joshua Reams, Nampa
Cooper Sampson, Boise
Anthony Starbard, Boise
Dayne Swisher, Naples
Luke Torretta, Coeur d'Alene
Nathan Tousley, St. Anthony
Carolyn Travis, Hayden
Kat Vardell, Sagle
Tanner Washburn, Nampa

U.S. Military Academy at West Point (Army):
Josh Austin, New Plymouth
Chas Cramer, Caldwell
Danyelle Harbauer, Boise
Dak Kibler, Boise
Andy Livermore, Pocatello
Mick Marion, Smelterville
Kyle McCrite, Athol
Courtney Sparks, Boise
Taylor Spencer, Nampa
Leslie Winkleman, Caldwell

U.S. Naval Academy:
Natalie Colla, Coeur d'Alene
DJ Darrow, Rathdrum
Claire Fletcher, Boise
Aaron Klinesmith, Idaho Falls
Ben Kopke, Coeur d'Alene
Meg Licht, McCall
Chase Nelson, Lewiston
Beau Polk, Coeur d'Alene
Fletcher Rydalch, Rexburg
Terry Taylor, Sandpoint

U.S. Merchant Marine Academy:
Natalie Colla, Coeur d'Alene
Kristi Critser, Nampa
DJ Darrow, Rathdrum
Pat Greer, Nampa
Andy Jozwik, Boise
Meg Licht, McCall
Garrett Lyons, Boise
Austin Porter, Rexburg
Anthony Starbard, Boise
Tanner Washburn, Nampa

# # #