Skip to content
U.S. National Debt:

Crapo Announces 2012 Idaho Military Academy Nominations

Washington, DC - Idaho Senator Mike Crapo announced his nominations of58 Idaho students to military service academies for the freshman class entering in 2013.  The students' applications are now being considered by four of the U.S. service academies, where final selections will be made.


"These Idaho students represent our best and brightest, headed not only for a superior education at our service academies, but in many cases, years of service to protect the freedoms we hold dear," Crapo said.  "I join all Idahoans in saluting these young Idahoans in choosing to serve and defend our security and freedom."


Each year, U.S. Senators and Representatives make nominations to four of the service academies.  Each academy then selects from the students nominated.  Crapo made nominations to the following:  the U.S. Air Force Academy, Colorado Springs, Colorado; the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy, Kings Point, New York; the U.S. Military Academy, West Point, New York; and the U.S. Naval Academy, Annapolis, Maryland.  Congressional nominations are not required for students attending the U.S. Coast Guard Academy. 


To be eligible for nominations, each student submitted an application and references, and met certain scholastic requirements under a deadline.  A nomination does not guarantee acceptance.  Those wishing to apply for future nominations should contact Karen Roetter in Crapo's North Idaho Office in Coeur d'Alene at (208) 664-5490, or visit Crapo's website at



Crapo 2012 Academy Nominations


U.S. Military Academy at West Point (Army)


Joshua Austin, New Plymouth

Mickenzie Boggs, Hagerman

Cyrus Cappo, Eagle

Aleksa Davis, Boise

Danielle Failor, Post Falls

Travis Griffard, Coeur d'Alene

Layne Harper, Blackfoot

Joel Heisey, Coeur d'Alene

Gabriel Huerta, Pocatello

Theresa Konecni, Boise

Tasi Lloyd, Caldwell

Conner McClellan, Mountain Home Air Force Base

Rachel Milam, Eagle

Corey Nielson, Eagle

Steven Price, Dalton Gardens

Molly Prins, Twin Falls

Colton Sterk, Eagle

Julen Totorica, Boise

Bridget Wasdahl, Boise

Benjamin Whipple, St. Maries


U.S. Naval Academy


Evan Barton, Post Falls

Kane Berglund, Kendrick 
Cooper Blas, Middleton

David Bordon, Rupert

Julia Carroll, Idaho Falls

Andrew Fletcher, Boise

Connor James, Boise

Nathan Marshall, Idaho Falls

Kaden Steingruber, Meridian

Julen Totorica, Boise


U.S. Air Force Academy


Caleb Baker, Caldwell

Evan Bonar, Boise

Krystal Busby, Meridian

David Elletson, Eagle

Kevin Fanter, Boise

Benjamin Fehringer, Kimberly

Kyle Flack, Moscow

Shea Goitiandia, Hailey

Spencer Goodmansen II, Rigby

Luke Harris, New Plymouth

Michael Hinatsu, New Plymouth

Grant Hruby, Boise

McCall Kerkman, Boise

Kallie Leonard, Boise

Tevin Manu, Meridian

Samantha McCain, Ammon

Skyler Podesek, Mountain Home

Steven Price, Dalton Gardens

Nathanael Szuch, Boise

Jaydon Wilkerson, Emmett




U.S. Merchant Marine Academy


Cyrus Cappo, Eagle

Julia Carroll, Idaho Falls

Kellen Copeland, Boise

Audrey Florence, Boise

Connor James, Boise

Kirby Johnson, Moscow

Danita Knickerbocker, Parma

Levi Orr, Boise