January 28, 2005

Crapo, Craig Announce Senate Youth Program Delegates

Students to travel to D.C., receive scholarship

Washington, DC â??Idaho Senators Mike Crapo and Larry Craig today announced the appointment of two Idaho high school students as delegates to the 42nd Annual United States Senate Youth Program in Washington D.C. Jacqueline Dahle of Meridian and Kylie Jackson of Rexburg were named by Dr. Marilyn Howard, State Superintendent of Public Instruction, to attend the program in Washington D.C., and receive a $5,000 college scholarship.â??Congratulations to Jacqueline and Kylie on their selection to participate in The United States Senate Youth Program,â?? Crapo said. â??Being chosen as a delegate speaks not only to these studentsâ?? impressive accomplishments, but also to their promising futures in public service. This experience will provide them with invaluable insight to the workings of our government, and unique knowledge to take back to their respective schools and communities.â?? "The United States Senate Youth Program is an excellent opportunity for these Idaho students to not only experience our nationâ??s capital, but is a testament to their extraordinary accomplishments in school and their communities," Senator Craig said. "I highly commend both Jacqueline and Kylie for achieving this great honor."Students are chosen on the basis of leadership abilities, volunteer work, and academic achievement. Students chosen as delegates rank academically in the top 1% of students in their states. Two alternates were chosen for the 2004 program: Stoddard Davenport, a student at Madison High School in Rexburg, and Sarah Stegner, a student at Moscow High School in Moscow.The student leaders will be in Washington, D.C., from February 28 to March 6, 2004, for a week of intensive study of the federal government and, in particular, the United States Senate. The students are also scheduled to meet with leading cabinet members, a Supreme Court Justice, and several key Congressional policy makers. All expenses for the trip and scholarship will be paid by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation # # #